krottrips.blogg.se

Western digital my passport for mac older versions
Western digital my passport for mac older versions







western digital my passport for mac older versions
  1. Western digital my passport for mac older versions install#
  2. Western digital my passport for mac older versions windows#

Not even turning off the LED (its button is glitched) or enabling the standby timer. Installing WD Drive Utilities now reveals the drives is now a "0-byte" drive!!! None of the scan options work.

Western digital my passport for mac older versions windows#

Windows now suggests me to initialize the drive. Then I moved on to my Windows environment.

Western digital my passport for mac older versions install#

I then tried to plug it back into a Linux environment (Xubuntu live USB drive) and install hfsutils to see if it would mount. And to clear the situation up, I know the USB ports on this G4 aren't faulty, as other drives work and are mounted properly on this machine (it takes time, but they eventually show up into Disk Manager). I also unplugged the drive without properly unmounting it as I had no option to do so. The second mistake I made was not paying attention to how the disk activity LED reacted. My trouble and nightmare began at this point. I let it plugged in for a little while (5 minutes at least) and it would never show up. The drive wouldn't appear within the Disk Manager. And that's probably the biggest mistake I could have made at this point, even though it could simply be a coincidence. Then I tried plugging it into an old Powerbook G4 I had lying around to see if it would mount. I safely ejected the drive and let it rest for one day. Silly me, this is a "Mac"-formatted drive, I won't be able to read it in my usual environment without the proper tools. Testdisk even reported an HFS-formatted partition. The first time I plugged it into my regular machine (Windows PC), I saw that the drive worked and was accessible but had a partition of an unknown format of the correct size (931GB). Inside resides a 1TB USB-only WD10JMVW-11AJGS2 manufactured 4. The drive in question is a My Passport for Mac, P/N WDBJBS0010BSL-05. people do whatever they want and don't learn their lessons it seems). If I'm here, it's because one of my neighbours recently lend an external WD My Passport for Mac hard drive to me so that I can transfer its data to a newer drive (well, another My Passport. LED remains stationary, until the 3rd click is heard (blinks slowly from that time). Drive also clicks once every 60 seconds but stops clicking after 3rd attempt (and keeps spinning). Tl dr version: Faulty My Passport drive, suspected damaged SA or access to SA impossible as it won't show its correct capacity in WD Drive Utilites and any VSC command is ineffective. I also do computer repair as a hobby and a service as long as it remains within my skills. My external hard drives are all enclosures I buy in order to fit regular SATA drives in them and do not contain sensible data (or are used for backup purposes). Besides, I would never ever myself buy one of those solutions companies like Western Digital, Seagate or even Samsung or whatever want you to buy as an external hard drive. For those who might recognize that name, they probably wonder why I'm posting here since I should know the basic rules about data preservation and failure prevention.









Western digital my passport for mac older versions